Birchbox Review for May

My apologies up front, I realize I am a couple of years behind in this, but I’d quite honestly never even heard the term Birchbox until a mutual friend of Annie and I’s, Miss E, spilled the beans. I’d noticed E’s nails one evening, during a bowling excursion, and she had the most gorgeous, vintagey-floral nail appliques applied. I immediately needed to know who, what, and how, and that is when the beans were spilled. Birchbox.

birchbox1

For those, like me, that simply do not know, Birchbox is a monthly beauty sample box. You pay $10 a month and receive an assortment of beauty and lifestyle goodies.

Quick facts about me:

  1. I love sample size anything
  2. I live for surprises
  3. I’m all about keeping USPS going

Birchbox is a members only site, but I received an invite about 3 days after requesting one. Another thing to note is the products are usually new on the market so you are likely to not be familiar with them. If you like any product you can purchase full-sized items from the Birchbox website. The pricing is similar to that of Ulta or Sephora.

Birchbox also has a point-based system where you earn points for each beauty fix, reviewing any products that were in your sample box, referring friends, or purchasing any full-sized items. You can use the points for discounts on purchases.

birchbox2

In this month’s Birchbox I received facial moisturizer with SPF via Coola, contrast eyeliner from Sumita, perfume from Joie, Beauty Protector leave in conditioner/detangler, and a beauty extra of itty bitty nail files from Tweezerman.

birchbox3

I’ve already used up all of the Beauty Protector and will be submitting a raving review. Ever since I’ve cut my hair short my hair over-reacts to conditioner, which simply means I cannot use a conditioner without needing to wash my hair every single day. This leave in conditioner spray and detangler was brilliant for my locks and it smelled lovely, very sweet.

The Tweezerman nail files went straight to my purse. Perfect size for those everyday nicks and chips.

birchbox4

The moisturizer and perfume went straight to my travel drawer. Yes, I have a drawer where I keep sample sized products solely for the purpose of traveling. I used to travel weekly for work, but since switching jobs I’ve started dipping into my stash for everyday use. The travel stash is still fairly significant, just for those every-now-and-then jaunts across the country.

As for the eyeliner, I’ve never been great at wearing eyeliner. Therefore, I see it popping up in someone’s stalking next Christmas.

So far I’m loving Birchbox! Check back on Thursday where I share my May’s Stitch Fix, basically fashion’s version of Birchbox. Do I love it as much as Birchbox? You’ll have to wait and see …

Are there any other monthly subscription joys I should be aware of? Spill it ladies! xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

Super quick note: Under the Oaks blog doesn’t get paid by anyone to promote anything. If we ever do, we’ll clearly note so.

2 thoughts on “Birchbox Review for May

  1. I’ve been getting Birchbox for a while…here is one more thing I didn’t know about it that blew my mind…a friend and I were comparing what we got and apparently, people get different things! *gasp*!! They send you things they think you will like based on the little survey you fill out when you sign up for the service. So, I get tons of mascara and volumizing shampoo. LOL.

    I have also signed up for 3 months of klutchclub, which is a mail order health and fitness club…they send you healthy new treats to try, etc. A little too pricey but they auto-renewed when I wasn’t looking so now I’m on my second 3 month order!

  2. Pingback: Another One of those … “What’s in My Bag” | under the oaks

Leave a Reply

