Raleigh’s Downtown Farmer’s Market

dfm1

On Tuesday I gave you all a tour of Raleigh’s amazing State Farmer’s Market as well as the Farmer’s Market Restaurant. On the queue today I have a peak inside Raleigh’s Downtown Farmer’s Market.

dfm2

From April through October a few select vendors set up tents in City Plaza on Fayetteville Street in Downtown Raleigh, which just happens to be a block from where I work. Every Wednesday, from 10am to 2pm I have the amazing ability to escape my corporate life to browse and pick up fresh produce, jars of jam, newly cut flowers, and endless amounts of other amazing treasures. I often grab a re-usable bag and 20 dollars in my pocket (poppin’ produce tags anyone?), and I’m off.

dfm3

While I love spring-time Farmer’s Market finds, my favorite season for produce is actually late summer/early fall. If you are a North Carolinian like I you can keep up to date on what’s in season via the North Carolina Department of Agriculture.

dfm4

dfm5

Because I’d just been to the State Farmer’s Market on Sunday, this week I didn’t have too much on my list to pick up at the Downtown Farmer’s Market. Therefore, this trip was simply for the pleasure of getting out of the office and enjoying a little warmth and sunlight. However, I was able to pick up some delicious finds. For a co-worker that needed a smile and some good luck, I picked up a couple of fresh cut roses. For me, I picked up some Strawberry Preserves and some BeeSmooched! Lip Balm in Peppermint Plunge. BeeSmooched is made by The Carolina Bee Company in Youngsville, NC. For all my finds I spend a grand total of $8 – score!

dfm9

dfm10

dfm11

Happy almost-Friday! xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

One thought on “Raleigh’s Downtown Farmer’s Market

  1. Pingback: Have a fun week! | under the oaks

Leave a Reply

