Have an “enérgico” week.

Happy Cinco de Mayo all! I’m at the beach this weekend, toes in the sand as we speak. As I’m bumming it up in the sun I thought I’d share a couple of margarita recipes that I’ve been meaning to try, and probably will real soon.

Typically I would try a recipe before sharing, but well … have you ever had a bad margarita? I also included a “virgin” margarita recipe (that I’ve pocketed for the future) for my preggo lady friends.

CA_FrozenWatermelonVirginMargarita_600x600

Frozen Watermelon Virgin Margaritas

This recipe is from WeightWatchers.com and I’ve not only pocketed for my future pregnant-self, but wouldn’t this be amazing for Memorial Day? Lov-eee me some watermelon.

4 cup(s) fresh watermelon, chunks, seeds removed3 1/2 Tbsp fresh lime juice, about juice of 4 limes (7 Tbsp)

2 Tbsp sugar

4 cup(s) ice cube(s)

1/8 tsp table salt

1/2 medium fresh lime(s), cut into wedges for garnish

Combine all ingredients, except lime wedges, in a blender; purée until smooth. Divide among 4 glasses. Garnish with lime wedges.

honeydew-margarita-020-685x1024

Honeydew Margarita

I stumbled upon this recipe at Sweet Life for a Honeydew Margarita. When I was in China last year I had honeydew ice cream and ever since then I have been OBSESSED with anything honeydew-flavored. I recently had honeydew sorbet at bu.ku as part of the Chef’s Selection Sorbets, it was delish.

salt lemon wedges

1 cup tequila

1 cup fresh honeydew juice

1/3 cup fresh lemon juice

1/2 cup Cointreau

ice cubes

In a small plate spread salt.  With lemon wedges moisten rim of 6 ounce glasses.  Dip glasses into salt.   Place glasses into freezer to chill.

In a pitcher combine tequila, honeydew juice, lemon juice and Cointreau.  Remove glasses from freezer and serve margarita mixture over ice. Garnish with lemon slices.

Happy Cinco de Mayo! xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

Leave a Reply

