C+J 2-Year Anniversary

czwedding_11

2 years and 1 day ago I married this really great guy. We married on a Friday afternoon on the Outer Banks of North Carolina under a beautiful lighthouse, about 10 hours after Prince William and Kate said “I do” in London. We were blessed with amazing weather and 45 of our family and closest friends surrounding us. At our casual, beach house reception we had our photographer take funny photos, ate key-lime cupcakes, and we danced the night away. For us, it was perfect.

czwedding_12

Year 1 was a vision of wedded bliss. The coast of California was our honeymoon destination, where we drove a white jeep down the California Pacific Coast Highway, drank wine, visited the sea lions in Carmel, and met the Disneyland version of Mickey and friends. Throughout the year we were cheesy, lovey-dovey, and I’m pretty sure we didn’t fight, not a once (at least that’s how I’m remembering it).

Year 2 was a different story. No longer riding on the waves of newlywed bliss we’ve had to put a little more effort into us. I switched jobs in the past year, from a job that had me away from home 2 weeks out of every month to home full time, which was an adjustment. In the 9 total years that we’ve been together, I would say it was one of the top 2 roughest times for us.

With that being said, I would like to say that I am more thankful for year 2 than I was for year 1. In year 2, I learned the most important lesson in my marriage, that our strength and deep love will prevail above all. Without tough times how do you know that you are strong enough, how do you know what your true colors are? There were moments when I thought, how easy would it be for me to walk away when things aren’t going my way. What I’ve discovered: I’m not that person … my husband and are not those people. Thank God.

In the past year I’ve learned a lot about recognizing flaws and finding strength in weaknesses. I’ve learned about the harmful art of comparison, which is an extreme weakness for me. I discovered that I’m my biggest bully. Once I began to recognize and accept my weaknesses they became easier to overcome.

I think my partner and I are going to see some more tough times to come, but I’m not really sweating it. He’s patient, loving, works hard, and accepts me as is; he’s basically my perfect partner in crime.

Still feeling sentimental … xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

Leave a Reply

