A Tronno Agenda

According the world-wide web pronouncing “Toronto” as spelled is an easy way to be pinpointed as a tourist while traveling to this city of 2.6 million. Therefore I shall only refer to this major metro as “Tronno” or “Trawno”, if that’s okay, eh?

Any-who, as previously mentioned in my bucket list update the hubby and I are traveling to Toronto in July. I mentioned in the post that I had previously been to Toronto for work, but it turns out it was Ottawa that I had traveled to so technically speaking this is my first jaunt to Toronto. The two cities are easy to confuse, right? Meh, Canada.

Our initial purpose for Toronto was attending JT & Jay-Z’s concert at the Rogers Centre and we figured we’d turn it into a long weekend and check out all Canada’s largest city has to offer. To make the trip a little more exciting for my husband we also got tickets to a baseball game for that same week featuring the Toronto Blue Jays vs. Tampa Bay Rays (also at the Rogers Centre).

toronto-canada-skyline-night

On My Trip To’s7 Top Things to Do in Toronto, Canada” they featured the CN (Canadian National) Tower as a must see. The CN Tower is the tallest structure in the Western Hemisphere and to me looks very similar to the Oriental Pearl Tower in Shanghai, which I’ve been to the top of. Whether or not I’ll be able to convince my husband to go to the top of this one, well, we’ll see.

My Trip To also recommends visiting Niagara-on-the-Lake which is a must see for the hubby and I as this is not somewhere I’ve been before, even stateside. Bucket list, check!

toronto110822_bikes_560

David Sax, for New York Magazine, put together a great list, “The Urbanist’s Toronto: What to Do”. In his list he includes suggested spots in Toronto to position your camera for great city shots. Also, recommends renting a bike at Bloor and Spadina and riding over to Kensington Market which has vintage shops, spice stores, and coffee shops galore. Sold!

loire_toronto

One menu I’m excited about exploring is that of Loire, a little bit of french flavor in the Kensington Market. Listen to this, Pearl Barely Risotto with hemp seed, pea shoot, and endive-apple salad. I’m totally drooling right now.

I feel I’ve only just discovered the tip of Toronto’s iceberg of adventure so if you have some suggestions leave them below. Things to do, places to shop, places to eat (I’m vegetarian so I would love to know where we can get a great vegetarian meal). Also, is it worth it renting a car, can we get around without one?

Tomorrow’s Friday, stay sane! xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

One thought on “A Tronno Agenda

  1. Pingback: Have a Canadian week. | under the oaks

Leave a Reply

