Have a natural week.

lc_lemonwater

Happy Sunday y’all!

A new week, a new chance to do something right, and boy have I been looking for one. I just feel … “blah.” The past couple weeks, and weekends, have been spent in a hurry. A lot of my daily and weekly rituals have been set aside for that hurry up and go. I haven’t sat down to put together a grocery list in almost a month, my house feels a disaster, and I just know I’m not getting enough water. I spent my Saturday this weekend in bed because the culmination of all these things just makes be feel “blah.” My stomach felt like “ick” and I had a headache, probably from the lack of hydration. I really hate when a Saturday gets wasted. Oh yeah, and I’ve also started watching Lost so I’m sure the doom and gloom is messing with my psyche (curiousity is such a killer).

Instead of getting down on myself I usually use this “blah” feeling as motivation for a reset. Reestablish my rituals, make a darn grocery list, and drink a lot of water. Lemon water that is.

I spent a little over a year as a dedicated vegan; no meat, no dairy, no eggs. Despite the constant questioning and judgement it was probably the best dietary rescue I could ever have put my body through. I only got sick once (from black mold at a client site), never any stomach aches, and my head felt clear. Then I started craving eggs, which technically made me vegetarian versus vegan and because I was eating eggs I said, “Self, go ahead and allow yourself a little dairy now and then too.”

During that time I also drank a lot of lemon water. Every week it would be on my grocery list to purchase a couple of lemons that I would keep on my desk at work. Every day I would slice up 1 lemon to put in my cup that would last all day through various refills. Doing this did a couple of things for me, 1) it made me feel rejuvenated and 2) it encouraged me to drink water, an established routine. Also, a bowl of lemons is a great way to spruce up a tiny space.

A couple of months ago I stumbled upon this 2012 post on Lauren Conrad’s blog, Sip This: 3 Reasons Why Lemon Water Rocks. She sites that lemon water aids in digestions, cleanses, and is a natural energizer.

Have a wonderful week, if you are in a slump go natural, get back to the basics. If you need some encouragement let that “blah” feeling inspire a personal comeback. When life gives you lemons …

2 thoughts on “Have a natural week.

  1. Thanks so much for posting this. I got into the habit of drinking lemon water a few months ago and then stopped for some reason that I can’t remember now. I’m buying some lemons today and starting again!

    By the way, I’ve been meaning to comment for a while now. I love your blog – so happy you both started this.

  2. Thanks Anne, you’re a doll! Hope Chicago is treating you well. 🙂

    I purchased a big ‘ole bag from Whole Foods and I’ve been good about cutting one up a day and drinking a little more water (still probably not as much as I’d like). A couple of co-workers have made jokes about what happens when “life gives you lemons”, so it’s also been a great conversation starter as well!

Leave a Reply

