Home Inspiration: Gallery Wall

As I’ve mentioned before, our nest is a fixer upper. We have big plans for the whole house and especially for the living room, including moving the front door, installing patio doors, and making super useful built-ins in the dead space. Right after the wedding I was in desperate need for something to do on the weekends since my [own] wedding planning days were over. The first weekend with nothing to do the house got cleaned and every room that could be rearranged was. It made a huge impact on the layout of the living room and everyone who has walked into the house has commented on how much bigger the room feels. We have one of those odd shaped living rooms: long, a few dead space places, and the only empty wall broken up by the doorway to the rest of the house. Eventually we will be creating a much more thought-out space but for now we have to deal. Moving the furniture created a wide open wall behind the couch and it’s begging to be a gallery wall so I’ve been pinning like crazy for some inspiration. Here are my favs.

gallery3(image via)

This is probably my favorite overall. I think the wall I have is too big to place them so close together but the mismatching makes me incredibly happy.

gallery5(image via)

Again, the mismatched frames, regardless of them all being white. I love the drawing of the frames too. I think I might like something inside the frames to give it a little depth but it’s a cool idea.

gallery1(image via)

This one is my favorite for my house. I think the dimensions are pretty similar to what will be going up at my pad. I love the styling of this one also. The curtains and coffee table are awesome. This might actually be the color scheme of our living room when we get to that. This blue is very similar to what I’m looking at putting in our dining room.

gallery2(image via)

gallery4(image via)

gallery6

I also found this little article with some great advice about styling a gallery wall. One thing to add to the tips is use masking tape. I heard this from somewhere and it’s has stuck (haha) with me since. Use the masking tape to simulate the frames to see exactly what it will look like when it’s on the wall. I don’t think it could get any easier.

2 thoughts on “Home Inspiration: Gallery Wall

  1. Pingback: Annie’s Renovation Realities | under the oaks

  2. Pingback: Annie’s Renovation Reality: The List | under the oaks

Leave a Reply

