A Night at the Oscars

the-oscars(image via)

The Oscars are coming up on Sunday night and while you may not watch it, you will see the fashion everywhere you turn. It’s fashion’s biggest night on the red carpet and dress, jewels, and suits don’t get any better. We thought it would be fun to plan for our future ultimate night out and share our Oscar wishlist looks with you all.

Annie’s Oscar Picks

carolina-herrera-30

Carolina Herrera RTW Fall 2013

My number one pick. This dress is ridiculous. I love the color and the slim silhouette. It’s very tailored around the plunge which makes me think I could actually pull something like this off.

prabal-gurung-32

Prabal Gurung RTW Fall 2013

I love this basic but definitely not basic dress. The edge on the runway would need to be replaced with some jewels and a beautiful heel but it’s versatility is what I really love about this. I’m not sure how I feel about the peekaboo opening on the side but maybe some custom work could be done to get it Oscar-ready.

monique-lhuillier-39

Monique Lhuillier RTW Fall 2013

This is over the top for me. I love the neckline and the shade of red. Definitely needs a small diamond bracelet but not much else.

1004-2-neil-lane-jewelry-for-kay-jewelers_we

Nothing completes an Oscar look like Neil Lane jewelry. This particular piece is on the “affordable” side since it’s from his Kay Jewelers line. I think it would look amazing with the Carolina Herrera dress.

Crystal’s Oscar Picks

VintageEdithHead

Vintage Edith Head circa 1954, as worn by Rosemary Clooney in “White Christmas” 

“A dress should be tight enough to show you’re a woman and loose enough to prove you’re a lady.” -Edith Head

My absolute favorite dresses to see on the Red Carpet are those that are vintage and classy and Edith Head’s shapely, black velvet gown as seen in White Christmas in 1954 is about as classy and as vintage as you can get. As a girl with lots of shape I’m all about showing them off and highlighting your best assets. While I fear I wouldn’t get to wear the original, I’d settle for a tasteful replication for my Red Carpet walk.

BalenciagaSpring2013(2)

Balenciaga RTW Spring 2013

Keeping it classy from head to toe I would opt to dress my foot in this open-toed pump from Balenciaga’s Spring 2013 RTW collection. The shoe is originally seen in white with a black ribbon detail, but upon a little manipulation I realize I would prefer it in all black.

Buccellati "Private Collection"

Buccellati “Private Collection”

I love these over-the-top elegant earrings from Buccellati’s Private Collection. Classic, unique, and incredibly elegant, would look absolutely amazing with the vintage Edith Head gown shown above.

Buccellati "Private Collection"

Buccellati “Private Collection”

Another classic from Buccellati’s Private Collection is this intricate yellow-gold and diamond bracelet. I love the geometric shapes and lace-like elegance. A lot of focus is placed on the wrist accessories during the Oscars, especially when you are carrying around that infamous gold-man statue, which of course I would, if I were going to attend the Oscars.

2 thoughts on “A Night at the Oscars

  1. Pingback: Have a strong week. | under the oaks

Leave a Reply

