DIY: Aromatherapy Steam Shower Blends

essentialoils (2)

This past Sunday I wished you all a warm week and one of my suggestions was to take a relaxing bath. I also mentioned how I’d been toying around with the idea of essential oils and the wonders of aromatherapy. This week my curiosity could not be contained, so here’s your Tuesday post: a DIY guide to making your very own aromatherapy steam shower sprays using the powers of essential oils.

Awhile ago I read an article about methods in which to wake yourself up in the morning. It mentioned things like running around your block a thousand times, doing yoga at the crack of dawn, asking your significant other to slap you awake, taking large swigs of happiness spiked coconut water and … adding a few drops of essential oil to your shower. Obviously I don’t remember much from the article other than the essential oils part, because that part seemed feasible to me. After doing a little bit of research I thought I would make my own secret shower potion. I envisioned something that I could easily concoct and could spray on the walls of the shower (must be natural and not go on the ground where I might slip, though that would be a sure fire way to wake up in the morning). As I began researching the powers of essential oils I had the brilliant idea of not only concocting a potion for WAKE time, but another one for SLEEP. Sometimes I shower at night if I know I have an early morning. A potion to help me wake up in the morning and fall asleep at night.

wakesleep

I purchased these glass, 4 oz. spray bottles up at Whole Foods and adhered simple black letter stickers to both so that I could differentiate between my WAKE and SLEEP potion.

SLEEP

sleep

  1. 60 drops Lavender essential oil
  2. 60 drops Geranium essential oil
  3. 60 drops Clary Sage essential oil
  4. 2 oz. water

For this combination I consulted Aura Cacia’s recipe for Calming Mist Spray and tripled it. I combined all essential oils into the bottle (labelled SLEEP as seen above), followed by the water (2 oz., or 1/4 cup). I placed the spray-top back on and shook lightly.

WAKE

wake

  1. 60 drops Eucalyptus essential oil
  2. 60 drops Peppermint essential oil
  3. 60 drops Sweet Orange essential oil
  4. 30 drops Ginger essential oil
  5. 2 oz. water

For this combination I consulted Aura Cacia’s recipe for Stimulating Blend and tweaked it for my need. I combined all essential oils into the bottle (labelled WAKE as seen above), followed by the water (2 oz., or 1/4 cup). I placed the spray-top back on and shook lightly.

In the morning before starting the shower you can give your shower walls (or around the bottom, just not directly where you stand – oil is slippery) a couple of sprays before starting the water. The heat from the water activates and intensifies the aromatherapy and helps to trick your brain into believing you had a restful night of sleep.

Other uses for essential oils, all of which are on my list to try:

1. Add more water and turn it into a room spray, especially the lavender – spritz your bedroom before bedtime.

2. Add a couple drops to a bath before bedtime (I’m thinking about the kids for this one too, dually noted to self for future use).

3. You could use it in your Peaceful Progression Wake Up Clock, if you have one (on the Wish List). Just read this description:

“More gentle than traditional jarring alarms, this clock uses gradually increasing light, stimulating aromas, and peaceful nature sounds to awaken sleepers. At 30 minutes before wake-up, the clock’s light begins to glow softly, brightening over the next half-hour. The device can simultaneously release aromatherapy scents into the air to stimulate the olfactory senses. Fifteen minutes before wake-up, the clock generates your choice of six nature sounds (including ocean surf, thunderstorm, white noise, spring rain, mountain stream, and forest stream). The cycle concludes with a chime (that gradually increases in volume) to wake the most stubborn sleepers.”

SOLD!

4. If you don’t like the spray you can make Natural Aromatherapy Shower Steamers using baking soda, citric acid, Epsom salt, witch hazel, honey, and your essential oils of choice. I’m going to attempt these as well. I bet these would be GREAT gifts and would be easy to mail.

Any other suggestions?

3 thoughts on “DIY: Aromatherapy Steam Shower Blends

  1. Pingback: Steam-shower Aromatherapy? - Soap Making Forum

  2. These suggestions are awesome with one exception…there is no mention of the ‘quality’ when choosing oils. What you put on your body, you also put in your body; therefore, it’s important to find high quality oils that are (1) pure and not synthetic (synthetic oils can lead to side effects that are no better than the synthetic products a person is trying to replace); (2) potent (plants are more potent when they are harvested where they grow indigenously rather than buying them from Farmer Bob up the road who has a greenhouse); and (3) guaranteed to be free from contaminants (such as herbicides, pesticides, insecticides, fertilizers, etc. and even animal droppings on the plants). I can’t emphasize point 3 enough. Find oils that are guaranteeed not to be contaminated. I highly recommend finding CPTG oils, which are certified pure therapeutic grade oils because they are the only ones on the market that are third-party tested prior to being bottled and sold. The contaminants that can creep into essential oils can actually increase the toxic load on the body if a person is not careful…I’m simply suggesting to do research on the chosen product before purchase or use on yourself, your family, and friends.

  3. Hi. Soooo….Essential OILS & water do NOT MIX. Basic chemistry has of oven oils & water do not mix. You need an emulsifier (something to prevent the oil & water from remaining separate). Witch hazel works or you could use alcohol (vodka typically).

Leave a Reply

