Our Spring ’13 Fashion Wish Lists

Hope you are all having a fantastic Valentine’s (or Anti-Valentine’s) Day so far! With Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week in NYC last week, we’ve been seeing a ton of posts on various blogs with pictures and reviews of the new Fall 2013 trends. This is a great time of year mostly because the magazines are exploding with new spring fashions and, if you live in the South like we do, you can start incorporating those first spring pieces into your wardrobe.

Here are each of our top three trends we are most excited about for spring:

Crystal – Cropped/Ankle Length Capris

CroppedPants

(image from left to right: Dorothy Perkins, Cartonnier, Michael Kors, J. Crew)

Every spring it seems that capris fly back into our wardrobes, but at a different lengths. This year, right at or above the ankle. Anthropologie is calling their’s the Charlie and J. Crew the Cafe. Either way, they are cute and are coming out in beautiful colors and Jacquard patterns. Also, very 1960’s Audrey Hepburn, as predicted by Vogue for 2013.

Crystal – Neon Accessories

NeonAccessories

(Clockwise from top left: Marc Jacobs, Cara, Prabal Gurung for Target, Urban Outfitters)

For the past couple of weeks I’ve been eyeing neon accessories. While I realize I’m straddling a fine line between Ke$ha and stylish, I love the idea of adding a neon accessory to a muted outfit (as pictured below). I think it is also a fantastic way to ring in the new season and can be carried over into your summer wardrobe.

NeonAccessories2

(image via)

Crystal – Brogues/Oxfords

BrogueOxfords

(image from left to right: BP, rag & bone, Frye)

For the past couple of seasons I’ve been in love with Brogues (also referred to as Oxfords), which are a little nerdy, but very stylish and practical. Obviously I won’t be purchasing any this season (as I’ve vowed to only purchase one pair of stylish looking skates this year), but that doesn’t stop me from thinking about how cute they look with those ankle length cropped pants for spring. **Note: I am not opposed to receiving any of the above as a gift, say in an 8.5M (ahem, hubby dearest).

Annie – Black & White

photo 2(Oscar // chair // coat)

Black and white is a classic. I can’t really even believe it’s a “trend” right. I’ve always loved the chevron pattern in any color but there is nothing better than b&w chevron. I’m also incredibly obsessed with the Oscar dress, also.

Annie – Emerald

photo 1(trench // lace // maxi)

I was so excited when the Pantone color of 2013 was emerald. It makes me think of St. Patrick’s Day and that’s a pretty big holiday in my family. The lace dress is a dream. I think it’s incredibly elegant but a little playful with how bold it is. It’s so sophisticated. I must get more emerald pieces in my wardrobe… and in my home! Baby’s room?

babyroom(image via)

Annie – Florals

photo

(skirt // blouse // pants)

I remember having a pair of blue floral overalls when I was a kid. They were awesome and awful in one. They might have been cutoffs too… Anyway, florals are back and bold. They can be vintage, loud, subtle, and super feminine. I think this is a very versatile trend for spring and I’m excited to play around with some of the different looks.

Leave a Reply

