Have a passionate week.

Under the Oaks Blog : Have a passionate week.

(image via tiny buddha)

This week is all about being passionate, and not just for the obvious reasons (Valentine’s Day is Thursday just in case you’ve been under a rock). I recently stumbled across an article about the things in life that you are passionate about. It was from the July/August 2012 issue of Health (ok, so I’m 6 months behind on my magazine stock-pile) and I found myself pondering my life’s passions. I really like this list of signs to help you gauge whether you’ve found something special.

5 Signs You’ve Found that Special Thing

1. You’d do it for free … and, uh, probably do.

2. You’ve lost track of time while doing it and only noticed when you smelled dinner burning.

3. At a party, you could talk about it until the hosts are sweeping up at the end of the night.

4. You don’t mind if you aren’t good at it …

5. … but the more you do it, the better you get at it – because you enjoy it so much.

In my ponderings I found myself thinking about traveling the world, photography, baking, decorating my house, shopping and finding good deals, dancing, being at the beach and sitting in the sand watching the waves roll in … all things that I feel passionate about that I could say apply to the above criteria.

I think the idea behind Valentine’s Day is a beautiful one indeed, but sometimes we get so lost in the hub-bub of our every day lives that our personal passions get left by the wayside. The article I read also spoke of re-awakening passions from our childhood. When I was a little girl my Grandma taught me how to bake and every time I bake I feel as special as I felt back then and it is something I have gotten better at with time.

This week I encourage you to celebrate your passions. Make a list of things that you’d do for free or that you just can’t stop talking about. Re-awaken a passion that you miss. Don’t get bogged down by life and remember that there are many beautiful things in life to celebrate and feel passion for and not just on February 14th.

Leave a Reply

