DIY: Pottery Barn Replica – Oil on Wood Wall Art

Everyone has that list of things they’d do if they won the lottery, I have mine as well. One thing I’d do is outfit my entire home (my newly acquired 5000+ sq. ft. overlooking a lake, go big or go home) in decor from Pottery Barn. Pottery Barn to me represents all things home, comfort, classic, and quality. Unfortunately, it also represents expensive.

I was recently browsing Pottery Barn looking for some artwork to go in our master bathroom that I’ve been working on updating (check back on Tuesday, February 5th for more details). I came across an oil on wood piece by Glen Firestone. It was exactly what I was needing for my space, but for this particular 18″ square piece = $2,200. For the size I really want? 32″ square piece = $3,600. Of course.

potterybarn_art(image via Pottery Barn)

I refused to let a $3,600 price tag defeat me. I read this as a challenge. DIY challenge = accepted.

My shopping list included:

DIY: Pottery Barn Replica - Oil on Wood Wall Art

  • 1/8″ 2’x4′ Hardboard Panel – $4.97 Home Depot
  • 2 pieces of 1×2-6FT Select Pine Board – $6.30 Home Depot
  • 10 pack of 6′ x 1-1/2″ Lath – $8.06 Lowes
  • Large back of 1′ x 1-1/2″ Shims – $3.87 Lowes
  • Large Sawtooth Picture Hangers – $3.47 Home Depot
  • Wire Brads #15 x 1-1/2″ – $1.30 Home Depot
  • Gold Escutcheon Pins #18 x 3/4″ – $1.30 Home Depot
  • Elmer’s Carpenter Wood Glue – $2.97 Home Depot
  • Minwax Wood Finish in Special Walnut – $4.78
  • Brush set – $4.99 Michaels
  • Foam Brush Pack – $2.79 Michaels
  • Winton Oil Paint in Prussian Blue, Titanium White, and Paynes Gray – $45.95 Michaels (originally not this much, but I ran out mid project and had to go back and get more)

DIY: Pottery Barn Replica - Oil on Wood Wall Art

First I assembled the frame. I cut both pieces of pine board in half using a circular saw and assembled them in a square overlapping the edges as pictured. On the corners I used the wood glue and secured with the wire brads, 2 for each corner. Then, I used the circular saw and trimmed the hardboard panel to 2’x3′. I adhered the panel to the back of the frame and secured on the top and bottom using the gold escutcheon pins. I used the hardboard as a means of adhering the strips of oil painted wood. Was this the best method, I’m not sure, but this was all that my creative mind could come up with.

Next I stained the frame with the Minwax and a foam brush. I came back a couple of hours later and applied a second coat to get an antique walnut finish.

While I waited for the stain to settle in I worked on painting the strips of wood and shims. This is where I made a rookie mistake and if I could go back would have changed my ways. First off, who knew that oil paints took DAYS to dry? I read this after I started painting when I noticed that the following day everything was still as wet as the day before. Second, I {should} have made all of my cuts before painting. I painted the shims and 6′ woods strips as is. Because it took so long for everything to dry, when I was cutting all my strips a week later I had to cut through wet paint. I’m inpatient, that’s how I roll.

However, I did find painting the strips to be very therapeutic. I took the approach that I wanted each strip of wood to be unique and flawed in some way. I mixed the oils together to create a good variation of grays, blues, whites. On some strips I applied a heaving amount of paint to give it some depth, and on others I would splotch on color and blend in. For example, I might run some white through the blue to give it some extra flaw. It was fun, despite the long dry time. Could I have used acrylics? I’m not sure.

DIY: Pottery Barn Replica - Oil on Wood Wall Art

Finally, a week later when the oil paints were semi-dry I began assembly. I wanted the strips of wood to be in various lengths with no sense of order at all. I used the wood glue and applied directly on the hardboard, adhering the various strip of woods within the frame on the hardboard.

DIY: Pottery Barn Replica - Oil on Wood Wall Art

DIY: Pottery Barn Replica - Oil on Wood Wall Art

In the beginning I began to doubt my project because I had done such a good job a making sure each strip was flawed that it wasn’t looking like it was going to come together. However, when I got to the halfway point, I stood back and thought, “Hey, not bad!” When I finished and came back to write this I looked at the original artwork and said, “Self, yours is way better and you only spent $94.19. Take that Glen Firestone for Pottery Barn.” However, due to this being a semi-challenging project I also thought that if I were Glen Firestone I would have no qualms charging $3,600 for my original piece of DIY art.

Tune back next Tuesday to see where I hang this gem!

4 thoughts on “DIY: Pottery Barn Replica – Oil on Wood Wall Art

  1. Pingback: DIY: Master Bathroom Makeover | under the oaks

  2. Looks Like A Great And Professional Job. Was Wondering When You Mentioned You Used Lath and Shims, Does That Mean That Some of The Pieces You Laid Out were Beveled And Not Flat? Want To Make One For My Mum And Was Wondering. On My Pc I Am Able To Zoom Right In On Picture, Butam unable To Tell. ThanksIn Advance….Jerry

    • Hey Jerry, thanks for the comment! You are correct, a lot of the pieces I used were beveled (shorter on one end) because 1) I wanted to add some depth and 2) it was cheaper, and we like cheaper and 3) I could buy them in packs pre-cut. This is still one of my favorite pieces of artwork in my home. I see it every morning and think about how much fun I had making it.

Leave a Reply

