Holiday DIY Gifts + Decor

Gifts : Holiday Wreaths (Pinterest Inspired) from Crystal

This year I thought I would go back to the basics of homemade gifts, they are the best kind! I personally love homemade gifts and in the cheesiest way feel like they are still the best way to show someone that you love them. “Look, Mom, I love you enough that I devoted my entire Saturday making this wreath for you while drinking wine, eating chocolate, and watching Pretty Little Liars.”

I pinned the following four wreaths on Pinterest, clipped some coupons from both Michael’s and JoAnn’s, and spent approximately $30 overall on all supplies (not including wine and chocolate). The second image is my adaptation of the four wreaths that I pinned.

pinterests_wreaths.before(Clockwise from top left : #1 // #2 // #3 // #4)

pinterest_wreaths.after(image via Crystal Zembal)

Like the true DIY-er that I am I didn’t bother to read the instructions for any of the wreaths, I just used them as inspiration. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. I think this time it worked out well. I thought it was super easy, but somewhat time consuming. I chose the larger version of a foam circle and wrapped three of the four with yarn. It was the perfect thing to do while catching up on TV and watching holiday movies.

Decor : Holiday Card Displays from Annie

We have a big family so it never fails that we get several Christmas cards and this year with all the weddings and births throughout our friends circles we’ve gotten a bunch more. Each year I plan to do something with the cards, a display that I can use each year but I never find something I really like or have room for. This year I did some looking and I’ve resolved to keep it simple. These ideas were my favorites:

20121218-092845.jpg(Envelopes // Tree // Collage)

Ultimately the collage won out. Mostly because it’s the last week before Christmas and I need to get them up! I purchased a corkboard from Target for $7 and called it a day.  I also like the idea that I can use it year-round and can tack up more than just cards. I have a few special ornaments and pieces of decor I don’t know what to do with so that will work out well. Maybe next year I’ll incorporate my advent calendar into it, too.

What are some of your holiday DIY projects?

One thought on “Holiday DIY Gifts + Decor

Leave a Reply

